Baile | Eolas | Déan Teagmháil Linn

An Chomhairle Ealaíon Playography In English


Samuel Beckett

1906 - 1989

Samuel Beckett was born in Foxrock, Dublin. After a distinguished career at Trinity College Dublin, he was appointed to an exchange lectureship in Paris, where he spent much of the remainder of his life, writing in both French and English. His novels include Murphy (1938), Watt (1942) and his trilogy of novels, Molloy, Malone Dies and The Unnameable (1949). He wrote and directed several works for television and film, including a silent piece, Film (1964), with Buster Keaton, and two wordless pieces, Quad I and II (1988). He also wrote a number of radio plays, one of which, All That Fall (1956), was presented as an installation in the Project Arts Centre by Pan Pan Theatre Company in August 2011. Samuel Beckett was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1969. He died in Paris on December 22, 1989.


Teideal an Dráma Drámadóir
Footfalls Samuel Beckett