Baile | Eolas | Déan Teagmháil Linn

An Chomhairle Ealaíon Playography In English


Printer Friendly

Leaders of the People


  • Drámadóir

    Robert Harding 

  • Nótaí

    The cast and character lists for this entry are drawn from reviews of the premiere production. As such, cast size details should be taken as approximate. Rutherford Mayne appeared in the orignal cast under his real name Samuel John Waddell.

  • Achoimre

    A play focusing on an Ulster election, and the progress of a new conciliation party in the north. Loftus Rankin is standing for the new party, and he claims the full support of Hugh Elewynn, a noted Gaelic propagandist, for his efforts. Elewynn's support is in fact not guaranteed, however, as he feels his ideas should not be mixed with electioneering. Potentially ruining Rankin's chances, he decides to dissociate himself from the election, until Rankin's fiancee Mary Hamilton intervenes and his situation is rescued.

  • Cinéal Dráma

    Drámaí Ginearálta

    Líon na Míreanna


  • Méid na Fóirne ( Fireann)


  • Méid na Fóirne (Baineann)


Céad Léiriú

Foireann An Chéad Léirithe  
Hugh Elewynn Rutherford Mayne
Ned Leslie John Field Magee
Loftus Rankin John P. Campbell
Mary Hamilton Josephine Campbell
Andy Wilson A. Gilmer
Timothy McGrath R.H. Leighton
Paul Glenwood Cahal Byrne

Eolas Faoi Chearta

  • Gan Aimsiú

Foinse Eolais

Information for this entry was taken from press cuttings, and from the Theatre and Performing Arts Archive of the Linen Hall Library, Belfast.